Faculty Directory

Dr. Sharmistha Sinha

Associate Professor (Scientist-E)

In our laboratory, we explore the structure-function relationship of nature’s one of the most simple yet intricate nano-bioreactors, bacterial microcompartments. These all protein bodies conditionally expressed in bacteria function towards segregating certain metabolic energy processes by taking the advantage of volume confinement and substrate channeling. At present my main focus is to understand the mechanism of biogenesis of these microcompartments that are encoded by complex multigene operon along with the initial events of microcompartment formation and the associated physiological triggers. These studies will help the design and bioengineering of novel smart nano-bioreactors. Do visit our Research page for exciting updates!


Research Interest

  • Biomaterials based on Prokaryotic Protein Assemblies
    Ligand-Protein interactions
    Protein Structure-Function relationship
    Genetic engineering of prokaryotic macromolecular assemblies

Research Highlights

empty! record not found

PhD Students

  • Mrs. Shabi Parvez

    Email: shabi.ph15219@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH15219

    Working Since Jan, 2016
  • Mr. Naimat Kalim Bari

    Email: naimat.ph14210@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH14210

    Working Since Jul, 2014
  • Ms. Harpreet Kaur

    Email: harpreet.ph19201@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH19201

    Working Since Aug, 2019
  • Ms. Ankush Garg

    Email: ankush@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH15206

    Working Since Jul, 2015
  • Ms. Harmanjit Kaur

    Email: harmanjit.ph14223@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH14223

    Working Since Jan, 2015
  • Mr. Gaurav Kumar

    Email: gaurav.phd17202@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: Ph17202

    Working Since Aug, 2017
  • Ms.Simerpreet Kaur

    Email: simerpreet.ph17224@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH17224

    Working Since Jan, 2018
  • Ms. Silky

    Email: silky.ph19202@inst.ac.in

    Reg. No.: PH19202

    Working Since Aug, 2019

empty! record not found

  1. Variable Mutations at the p53-R273 Oncogenic Hotspot Position Leads to Altered Properties: Ankush Garg , Jagadish Prasad Hazra 2, Malay Kumar Sannigrahi 2, Sabyasachi Rakshit 3, Sharmistha Sinha, (2019) Biophysical Journal, 118 (3): 720-728. DOI: 10.1016/j.bpj.2019.12.015

  2. Functional protein shells fabricated from the self-assembling protein sheets of prokaryotic organelles: Naimat K. Bari, Gaurav Kumar , Jagadish P. Hazra, Simerpreet Kaur ,Sharmistha Sinha, (2019) Journal of Materials Chemistry B, 8: 523-533. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1039/C9TB02224D

  3. Nanoparticle Fabrication on Bacterial Microcompartment Surface for the Development of Hybrid Enzyme-Inorganic Catalyst.: Naimat Kalim Bari , Gaurav Kumar, Aashish Bhatt, Jagadish Prasad Hazra, Ankush Garg, Md. Ehesan Ali, (2018) ACS Catal., 8: 7742–7748. DOI: 10.1021/acscatal.8b02322

  4. Cellulose-metallothionein matrix for metal binding: Naimat K.Bari, Shaswat Barua, Ankush Garg, Malay K.Sannigrahi, (2018) Carbohydrate Polymer, 192: 126-134. DOI: 10.1016/j.carbpol.2018.03.043

  5. Enhanced bacterial cellulose production from Gluconobacter xylinus using super optimal broth: Prathna T. Chandrasekaran, Naimat Kalim Bari, (2017) Cellulose, 24(10): 4367–4381.

  6. Selective molecular transport through the protein shell of a bacterial microcompartment organelle: Chowdhury C, Chun S, Pang A, Sawaya MR, Sinha S, Yeates TO, Bobik TA., (2015) Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A., 112(10): 2990-5. DOI: 10.1073/pnas.1423672112

  7. Alanine scanning mutagenesis identifies an asparagine-arginine-lysine triad essential to assembly of the shell of the Pdu microcompartment: Shouqiang Cheng, Yea Won Sung, Dan E. McNamara, Michael R. Sawaya, Todd O. Yeates, Thomas A. Bobik. J., (2014) J. Mol. Biol., 26(12): 2328-45. DOI: 10.1016/j.jmb.2014.04.012

  8. Diverse bacterial microcompartment organelles: Chowdhury C, Sinha S, Chun S, Yeates TO, Bobik TA., (2014) Microbiol Mol Biol Rev., 78(3): 438-68. DOI: 10.1128/MMBR.00009-14

  9. A Key Role for Lysine Residues in Amyloid β-Protein Folding, Assembly, and Toxicity: Sharmistha Sinha,Dahabada H. J. Lopes,Gal Bitan. ACS Chem. Neurosci., (2012) ACS Chem. Neurosci., 3 (6): 473–481. DOI: 10.1021/cn3000247

  10. Lysine-Specific Molecular Tweezers Are Broad-Spectrum Inhibitors of Assembly and Toxicity of Amyloid Proteins: Sharmistha Sinha, Dahabada H. J. Lopes, Zhenming Du, Eric S. Pang, Akila Shanmugam, Aleksey Lomakin, Peter Talbiersky, Annette Tennstaedt, Kirsten McDaniel, Reena Bakshi, Pei-Yi Kuo, Michael Ehrmann, George B. Benedek, Joseph A. Loo, Frank-Gerrit Klärner, Thomas Schrader, Chunyu Wang, and Gal Bitan J. Am. Chem. Soc, (2011) J. Am. Chem. Soc., 133 (42): 16958–16969. DOI: 10.1021/ja206279b

  1. Application of Photochemical Cross-linking to the Study of Oligomerization of Amyloidogenic Proteins: Lopes DHJ, C Rosensweig, G Bitan., (2012) Methods Mol Biol., 849: 11-21.

  2. Amyloids and Protein Aggregation—Analytical Methods: Li H, F Rahimi, K Murakami, P Maiti, G Bitan., (2009) Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry., .

  1. Molecular Tweezers for the Treatment of Amyloid-Related Diseases: P. Talbiersky, A. Lomakin, F.-G. Klärner, T. Schrader, S. Frautschy,G. Bitan., (2010) .

  2. New compounds for the treatment of diseases related to protein misfolding: T Schrader, K Hochdorffer, J Marz-Berberich, L Nagel-Steger, G Bitan, (2010) .

  3. XVIII International Symposium on Glycoconjugates (GLYCO-18): Florence, Italy, (2005) .

  1. The 56th Biophysical Society Meeting: SanDiego, CA, (2012) .

  2. The 23rd Symposium of the Protein Society, Boston: MA, (2009) .

  3. XVII International Symposium on Glycoconjugates (GLYCO-17): Bangalore, (2002) .


  • Biological treatment of engineered nanomaterials-contaminated wastewater-feasibility and implication Two Years, INST
    Funding Amount: 10 Lakhs
    Role PI: Dr. Sonalika Vaidya Role Co-PI: Dr. Sharmistha Sinha

  • 2006

    PhD (Biophysics)

    Molecular Biophysics Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, INDIA.

  • Postdoctoral Fellow:Dept. of Biochem. Biophys. and Mol. Biol., Iowa State University, Ames,, USA (April 2010 to April 2013 )

  • Postdoctoral Fellow:Dept. of Neurology, University of California, Los Angeles,, USA (March 2008 to March 2010 )

  • Research Associate:Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore,, India (April 2007 to April 2008 )

Awards & Honours

Professional Recognitions